Sonnet of Small Moments

In an effort to try to understand why I don’t just blog immediately after things happen, I have attempted to write a sonnet of explanation, recalling small moments that aren’t in themselves worthy of a whole blog…

IMG_0316 IMG_0317 IMG_0321 IMG_0306 IMG_0307 IMG_0308 IMG_0309 IMG_0310 IMG_0311 IMG_0312 IMG_0313 IMG_0314 IMG_0315 IMG_0318

And now for some further explanation…

Dear blogger, why does space betwixt posts grow?
Dear reader, so many small moments passed…

These bubble photos were taken at Aidan and Em’s house where there is a bubble maker for the entertaining of little ones.  Though, sometimes, they find other things to do that are more fun…

IMG_0325 IMG_0324

I became friends with Hercule Poirot

I treated myself to a ticket to see The Last Confession, starring, amongst others, David Suchet.  Mr Suchet is most often recognised for his incredibly long running tenure as Belgian detective, Hercule Poirot.  I had read that as a teenager Mr Suchet had been shunned by a particular comedian after being approached for an autograph and that experience had meant that now that he was a famous actor, he would always take time for his fans.  Which gave me the opportunity to stalk him after the play.  Poirot, as some of you may know (and others of you may deduce) has a little french-ish voice.  The Cardinal in The Last Confession had a booming, solemn voice.  Neither of these was Mr Suchet’s actual voice, which was British and charming – he teased me about introducing myself as “Yvette with a Y” and suggested that we take “a little piccy” to remember the occasion.  I’m a Poirot Fangirl for life now!

IMG_0320

I didn’t admire a musical’s cast

My school’s production when I was in Year 8 was Into the Woods.  I played in the orchestra.  I loved it.  I loved it all – the costumes, the music, the story, the Sondhiem, the quickly-but-strongly-forged adolescent friendships, the independence, the theatre. So when I see something that will remind me of that time, I indulge myself and this time I bought tickets for a production at the Conservatorium.   This time, though, it didn’t work.  The character characters were trying to be too beautiful, the narrator was trying to be too cocky and everyone was trying too hard.  It became a desperate story of infertility and loss rather than a jolly romp with some cheeky innuendo.  I did like the cow puppet though…  2 out of 5 magic beans.

Made a roast with crackle like salt bubbles

When I visited my parents in Townsville, I was put in charge of cooking a pork roast.  Mmmmm roast.

Fair engineeresses supped on high tea

The Queensland Women in Engineering branch held a career development session which was also a high tea in the Brisbane Arcade.  It was just lovely, and the decor was only verging on gaudy.

James Squires opened to help your troubles

After years of waiting, the space under the Convention Centre finally opened, and lo and behold; it was a James Squire’s Brewery, which expanded along the street front.  It begins with a coffee and breakfast nook, then the kitchen, showing various roast meats on offer, then a posh restaurant, then a bar with a bar menu and then another bar upstairs with all the brewing vats visible behind glass.  Upon finding out they served pulled pork, I was sold.

No felicity can match a onsie

In order to make Toby feel more at ease, we had a spontaneous onsie party when looking after him.  I am not entirely sure it had the desired effect.

House points were won for cancer expenses

My friend, and Jedi-master, Leesa held a trivia night entitled “It’s All Geek to Me” in order to raise money for women’s cancers.  While this is very important, the best thing about the night was that I got to dress up in my Hogwarts gear again.  Davey also made an appearance as Arthur Dent, one of the simplest, but geekiest, costumes around.

IMG_0323

Bill and Hayley also dressed up.  Hayley had gone to significant effort to create her Sailor Moon costume, right down to painting shoes the right colour and she was understandably miffed when Bill won a prize because he had given himself a Tony Stark goatee with a permanent marker.

I also won the silent auction for a painting called Un, Deux, Trois Bicycletts which is now hanging in my bedroom:

DSC_0049

From yonder window I did spy a boat

Sometimes I get distracted by the view from my office.  This time it was warranted because there was not just a boat, but a paddle boat.

Chai tea, infused, consumed Toby’s senses

Toby wasn’t too sure about Masala Chai tea but he did jump up to the bar to have a sniff.  I think he prefers Stockholm Black, which is not surprising given who his parents are.

And hens drank drinks in which some “things” did float

I attended some hens drinks for one of the lovely ladies at work who was getting married.  Someone decided that novelty straws were required.

After four years, we left the street of Grey
I fear my right brain is still packed away

After four years at the Arbour on Grey, we moved to another apartment, still in the South Bank vicinity.  It’s a two bedroom, on the penthouse level, with beautiful views of Queenslanders nested in trees and a stone church.

And seeing as a change is as good as a holiday, and this is a travel blog, I’m going to share an excessive number of photos of my new apartment and view with you, given that this move is a major contributor to my chronic blog delay.

DSC_0017 DSC_0005 DSC_0014 DSC_0006  DSC_0026 DSC_0024 DSC_0031DSC_0028 IMG_0034 DSC_0038 DSC_0035

One thought on “Sonnet of Small Moments

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

